Reason to be Thankful

Some of my crazy kids; Top – Charlene and Steffy, bottom – Walter and Karla

As I sit here in class with my students I’m suddenly mentally transported back to the days of my youth as I watch the kids work on their projects and play educational games. I really have to get out of the habit of calling them “kids” because after all, they are freshmen in college. The majority of my students are between 18 and 25 so in a sense, they are still kids to me. But I digress.

Soooooooo you’re probably wondering how it is that I am able to write this blog during class, right? Well let me tell you. Today is the day before Thanksgiving and I told my students during our last class that though I would be in class today, I would understand if they had plans and couldn’t make it to class seeing how it is the day before Thanksgiving. I had to be vague because as their instructor I could not very well have come out and said they didn’t have to come to class today because that would have landed me in some hot water with my dean if she found out. Therefore I just danced around the issue by saying it without saying it hoping they would read between the lines. The majority of my students didn’t come today but a few of my most dedicated students did. I must say that I was pleasantly surprised because I wasn’t expecting any of them to show up, and that leads me to the purpose of this blog.

As this is a time for us to reflect and give thanks for our family members, the material things we have and the relationships we share, it’s also important to give thanks for the little things in life. In a sense though, the little things are actually the big things. So I am truly thankful today that I have students that find my class special enough to show up even when they didn’t have to. It really warms my heart. I wish all of you a Happy and safe Thanksgiving as you have so much to be thankful for, even if you don’t realize it.

ASK

Leave a Reply

